RSA News2020-02-28T10:57:59+11:00

Awards for Fellows of Australia’s Royal Societies

The Royal Societies of Australia extends a sincere congratulations to Fellows of the Royal Society of New South Wales for their recent success!

Professor Nalini Joshi AO FRSN FAA of the University of Sydney has been jointly awarded the George Szekeres Medal of the Australian Mathematical Society for 2020 in recognition of her “outstanding contribution to the mathematical sciences”. The most senior award of the Australian Mathematical Society, Professor Joshi was […]

January 11th, 2021|RSA News|

Vale Major General Michael Jeffery

The Royal Societies of Australia is deeply saddened by the passing of our inaugural Patron, Major General The Honourable Michael Jeffery AC AO (Mil) CVO MC (Retd) who died on 18 December at the age of 83. Our thoughts are with his family and the wider Australian community at this time. General Jeffery was Australia’s twenty-fourth Governor-General following a term as Governor of Western Australia and a distinguished career in […]

January 1st, 2021|RSA News|

Australia’s Next Chief Scientist

The Royal Societies of Australia congratulate Dr Cathey Foley AO on her appointment as Australia’s next Chief Scientist by Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Karen Andrews MP. Dr Foley is a renowned physicist with a distinguished career at CSIRO,  her scientific excellence and influential leadership have been recognised with numerous awards and fellowships, including a Eureka Prize for the promotion of science, NSW Woman of the Year, […]

November 9th, 2020|RSA News|

NAIDOC Week 2020

The Royal Societies of Australia supports #NAIDOCWeek 2020!

To celebrate this year’s theme, the Australian Museum has worked with First Nations people to translate ‘Always Was, Always Will Be’ into their respective languages in recognition that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people have occupied and cared for this continent for over 65, 000 years. Take a look […]

November 9th, 2020|RSA News|

NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science and Engineering 

The NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science and Engineering seek to recognise excellence in science and engineering, and reward leading researchers for cutting-edge work that has generated economic, environmental, health, social or technological benefits for New South Wales.

Congratulations to Fellows of the Royal Society of New South Wales, Distinguished Professor Sue O’Reilly FAA FMSA FGSAu FRSN DHC, Macquarie University for […]

November 9th, 2020|RSA News|

Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science 2020

Congratulations to all the winners of the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science, especially those from Australia’s Royal Societies.

Professor Thomas Maschmeyer of the University of Sydney is a Fellow of the Royal Society of New South Wales and has been awarded the 2020 Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation for translating his research in fields that address environmental problems into two pioneering technologies: the Catalytic […]

November 9th, 2020|RSA News|
Go to Top