The Royal Societies of Australia extends a sincere congratulations to Fellows of the Royal Society of New South Wales for their recent success!

Professor Nalini Joshi AO FRSN FAA of the University of Sydney has been jointly awarded the George Szekeres Medal of the Australian Mathematical Society for 2020 in recognition of her “outstanding contribution to the mathematical sciences”. The most senior award of the Australian Mathematical Society, Professor Joshi was awarded the medal jointly with Professor Ole Warnaar of the University of Queensland.

Professor Ben Eggleton FRSN FAA FTSE of the University of Sydney has been awarded the WH “Beattie” Steel Medal for 2020 from the Australian And New Zealand Optical Society (ANZOS). The “Beattie” Steel Medal is the most prestigious award of the Australian and New Zealand Optical Society and is presented to a nominee with a strong and sustained record of authority, enterprise, and innovation in the field of optics in Australia or New Zealand. For Professor Eggleton, it recognises his outstanding contribution to the Australian and international optics and photonics communities by leading several major cooperative centres, an exceptional research and development record, and organisational services to the optics community.

Professor Eggleton was also awarded the 2020 Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia alongside Professor Robert Park who received the 2020 Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science.

Scientia Professor Matthew England FRSN FAA of UNSW Sydney has been awarded the Morton Medal from the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (AMOS) for 2020. The Morton Medal recognises leadership in meteorology, oceanography, climate and related fields, particularly through education and the development of young scientists, and through the building of research environments in Australia.