The Royal Societies of Australia congratulate Dr Cathey Foley AO on her appointment as Australia’s next Chief Scientist by Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Karen Andrews MP. Dr Foley is a renowned physicist with a distinguished career at CSIRO,  her scientific excellence and influential leadership have been recognised with numerous awards and fellowships, including a Eureka Prize for the promotion of science, NSW Woman of the Year, and an Order of Australia earlier this year. Read more at