About admin

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far admin has created 15 blog entries.

The RSA and our response to COVID-19

After careful consideration and in line with evolving advice from Commonwealth and State health authorities regarding the COVID-19 virus, the Royal Societies of Australia have decided to suspend our in-person gatherings for the immediate future. We hope to proceed with our events later this year.

The RSA and our response to COVID-192020-03-24T01:03:25+00:00

Part-time Coordinator joins the RSA

As part of its agreement with the Australian Academy of Science, the RSA has appointed a part-time Coordinator, Clare McLellan, to work in conjunction with the Academy where the position is based. The role is two days per week with the other three days devoted to archival and other work for the Academy.

Part-time Coordinator joins the RSA2020-03-12T02:42:53+00:00

The Royal Society

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of distinguished scientists drawn from all, areas of science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine. The Society traces its beginnings to the 1660s and has as its fundamental purpose to recognise, promote and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity. The Society has played a part in some of the […]

The Royal Society2020-03-18T05:56:30+00:00

The Royal Society of Edinburgh

The Royal Society of Edinburgh is an independent educational charity committed to providing public benefit throughout Scotland by supporting the advancement of learning and useful knowledge. Established by Royal Charter in 1783, the Society boasts a1600-strong Fellowship including experts from a broad spectrum of disciplines such as science & technology, arts, humanities, social science, business and public service.
Activities include leading on major inquiries, informing public policy, funding […]

The Royal Society of Edinburgh2020-03-18T06:12:04+00:00

The Royal Society Te Apārangi

The Royal Society Te Apārangi is an independent, not for profit founded in 1867 as the New Zealand Institute, a successor to the New Zealand Society. The Society is concerned with exploring, creating and celebrating the knowledge that is critical to a thriving New Zealand. This is achieved through public outreach, education and by supporting the research community and providing advice and information to government and […]

The Royal Society Te Apārangi2020-03-18T06:12:51+00:00

Royal Society of Canada (RSC)

Established in 1882 the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) serves Canada and Canadians by recognizing Canada’s leading intellectuals, scholars, researchers and artists and, by mobilizing them in open discussion and debate, advancing knowledge, encouraging understanding and addressing issues that are critical to Canada and Canadians – keep up with their latest news and events.

Royal Society of Canada (RSC)2020-03-11T09:11:20+00:00

The Royal Irish Academy

The Royal Irish Academy, founded in 1785, is Ireland’s leading body of experts supporting and promoting the sciences and humanities. As an all-island independent forum of peer-elected experts, the Academy recognises world-class researchers and champions Irish academic research. The Academy makes a significant contribution to public debate and policy formation on issues in science, technology and culture.
The Academy brings together academia, government and industry to address issues of mutual […]

The Royal Irish Academy2020-03-18T06:07:39+00:00

The Royal Society of South Africa

The Royal Society of South Africa is the Republic’s premier multi-disciplinary scientific organisation having received its Charter from Edward VII in 1908. For a century, the Society has played a leading role as the public face of South African science.
Without discrimination, it has fostered a national culture of scientific excellence through funding, education and public outreach. The Society rewards eminent scientists with Fellowships and medals and […]

The Royal Society of South Africa2020-03-11T09:08:58+00:00

2019 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year

Congratulations to Associate Professor Elizabeth New from the University of Sydney, the winner of the 2019 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year. The award was formally presented by the Prime Minister at a dinner in the Great Hall of Parliament House, Canberra on Wednesday 16 October 2019. Associate Professor New is a Fellow of the Royal Society of NSW and was recognised for pioneering imaging tools that allow scientists to […]

2019 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year2020-03-05T23:33:54+00:00