Congratulations to Associate Professor Elizabeth New from the University of Sydney, the winner of the 2019 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year. The award was formally presented by the Prime Minister at a dinner in the Great Hall of Parliament House, Canberra on Wednesday 16 October 2019. Associate Professor New is a Fellow of the Royal Society of NSW and was recognised for pioneering imaging tools that allow scientists to see deeper into cells than ever before. For more details of the prizes and past winners and past winners see the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes website.